Ed Jones Finishes 15th in 2021 Season Opening of Honda Indy GP of Alabama

LEEDS, Alabama

Ed Jones Race Summary:

  • Ed Jones piloted the No. 18 Team SealMaster-Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan entry to a 15th place finish in the 2021 NTT INDYCAR SERIES season opening Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park in Leeds, Alabama.
  • Jones started 13th of the 24 drivers to take the green flag on the 2.3-mile, 17-turn permanent road course.
  • He spent most of the race running in the mid-teens getting as high as eighth.

Ed Jones Race Quote:
“We were having a pretty good weekend of practice. In qualifying the track conditions threw us off a little bit. We were also having an issue with straight line speed, so it made us feel we were less competitive than we were. I think we over compensated with the changes we made for the warmup, so we were on our back foot for the race. It was a tough race. We did the best we could. A few changes here and there would have made a big difference. So, I’m looking forward to St. Petersburg next weekend.”
Ed Jones Fast Facts:
The 15th place finish is Jones’ best in four races at Barber surpassing a 16thplace showing in 2018.
The 2021 Honda Indy GP of Alabama was Jones’ 48th career NTT INDYCAR SERIES start and fourth at Barber Motorsports Park.
Jones has made 48 career INDYCAR starts earning 14 top-10 finishes including three podium performances. Third in the Indianapolis 500 in 2017, and third at Long Beach and Detroit Race 2 in 2018.
Jones is contesting his fourth NTT INDYCAR SERIES season and first with Dale Coyne w/ Vasser Sullivan.
Jones was the 2017 INDYCAR Rookie of the Year and was the top-rookie finisher in the 2017 Indianapolis 500, placing third.
Jones, 26, was born in Dubai, United Arab Emirates (of British citizenship) and currently resides in Miami, Florida.
Next Race:
Round 2 of the 17-race 2021 NTT INDYCAR SERIES season will be the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, April 23-25, on the 1.8- mile, 14-turn temporary street circuit in St. Petersburg, Florida. The race will be broadcast on NBC Network at 12:30 PM ET.